Chapter 11 – Part 2

[2740 AD; Ports of Iiayi]

 

The glow of the moon above reflected on the ocean below. It was a quiet night when Belkley arrived before him, the man he once knew ten years ago. Wihll hid behind the back of the building by the dock and emerged from the shadows. Both men stood tall, facing each other as the breeze ruffled Belkley’s hair.

“You told to come,” Belkley said. “Here I am. What do you want?”

“Do you want to know how I knew you were here?” Wihll asked. “I can answer that if you want.”

Belkley shook his head. “It doesn’t matter,” he said, “I already know what you guys do to people who leave the True Thekohnians.”

“It seems you haven’t forgotten,” Wihll said.

“It’s hard to forget what I saw,” Belkley replied. “Especially because you seemed so calm about what happened.”

“Then you saw it?” Wihll asked. “The masterpiece of our work this morning… I guess you could call it the True Thekohnians’ magnum opus.”

Belkley clenched his fists. “I always knew there was something wrong with you,” he said, “But to stoop this low! You are a piece of shit!”

“Ah, Belkley, how wrong you are,” Wihll said. “I only wished that this was my work. Everything that happened today was because of Walton Lokke.”

Belkley’s eyes shot up. “Lokke!?”

Wihll stretched his arms. “Yep, the old man’s been out of prison for a while now,” he said. “You should have seen him all fired up!”

“He’s a murderer!” Belkley said. “It was because of him that my family died! He probably even had your family killed, too!”

It was then that Wihll snickered. “Poor Belkley, you really are ignorant,” he said. “We were so young back then, but I didn’t expect that you’d still be the same pathetic kid.”

“Just tell me what you want,” Belkley demanded.

“Ah yes, that,” Wihll said. “It’s funny, really. I was wondering if you’d give me one more chance. That is, if you apologize, obviously.”

“Apologize for what?” Belkley asked. “How dare you think that I should apologize!”

“And here I thought that you would drop to your knees,” Wihll said. “Of course I knew you wouldn’t so easily accept. Even after I helped you out and rescued you from certain doom, I always knew you would be a traitor.”

“But I didn’t know,” Belkley said, “I didn’t know that what I’d be getting into would be so evil…”

“Really? You’re calling me evil?” Wihll asked. “After what the Ameci-Iiayi alliance did to your hometown?”

“You say that, and it might be true,” Belkley replied, “But the True Thekohnians are no better!”

“To be honest, I’m getting really tired of hearing that,” Wihll said. “All this talk about how we’re so nefarious, so evil… Do you really think that about me?”

“I’m done,” Belkley said. “I just want to go back on the ocean again like I have been doing.”

“You really know how to make me envy you, don’t you?”

“That wasn’t meant as a brag.”

“Then I guess I should ask you something else,” Wihll said. “Have you ever felt like dying?”

“I don’t want to answer that,” Belkley replied.

Wihll laughed. “Guess you wouldn’t know,” he said. “As for me, I’ve had it all. Let’s just say that I’m fortunate enough to stand before you right now.”

Silence filled the air as Belkley didn’t respond.

“I guess you don’t have anything to say about that, do you?” Wihll asked. “Honestly, I don’t even care at this point. I’ve already come here to say what I’ve wanted to say.”

“So you’re done, then?” Belkley asked.

“Well, done with you, Belkley Ghillard,” Wihll replied.

“What are you talking about?”

It was only a second later as Wihll stabbed Belkley in his side. The pain shocked Belkley as he gasped out loud, the knife driving deeper into his body. He looked Wihll in the eyes and saw a face he had never seen before. Wihll’s eyes were at their widest, his eyebrows furrowed as he had a large smile upon his face.

“Do you see it now?” Wihll asked. “This is what happens to traitors!”

Belkley mustered up his strength to shove Wihll away. He began to run, covering his wound as blood leaked out. Still, Victor Wihll was persistent. He caught up to Belkley again and lifted the knife up once more. With a single swing, Wihll brought it down. The knife planted itself within Belkley’s back, which made him fall to the ground.

“Victor…”

He struggled to turn his head when Wihll removed the knife from him. To feel it coming out was almost worse. Once his sights settled, Belkley saw Wihll stand over him. Wihll began to laugh as he put his knife away.

“Maybe it didn’t go exactly as I planned it,” Wihll said, “But I did end finishing what I wanted to do.”

Belkley tried to reply, but ended up coughing instead. Blood spurted out of his mouth as he did.

“You were quite a good friend a time ago,” Wihll told him. “I would say it was too bad, but we both know you got what you deserved.”

He then dragged Belkley over to the side. A vast body of water awaited both of them as Wihll turned to Belkley one last time.

“Good night,” Wihll said.

With that, Wihll shoved Belkley into the water face down. It would be the last few moments that Belkley would have as his life faded. A few bubbles rose up to the surface, but that was it. Wihll stood there until he was certain that Belkley was dead, and then left.

“Not much to do now,” he said. “Lokke, it will all be worth it in the end. You will be surprised.”

Wihll left the port as if nothing had happened. He was focused on Maeitakohn now that the last bit of his past was left floating in the water. It would not be until the morning when Belkley would be found, but by then Wihll would already be gone. Wihll’s plan had already gone into action earlier today, and he was not about to abandon it right now.

 

To be continued…

 

Previous | Next Chapter

