Chapter 7 – Part 2

Ayanna walked down the hallway, gun in hand as she tried to find Victor Wihll. She decided to take the path that Wihll had taken, even though she felt that it was likely a trap. Still, there were the two soldiers that went with Wihll, and she had to make sure that they were okay.

“Is anyone there?” Ayanna asked, entering the room at the end of the hall. She stopped instantly once she caught the smell of blood in the air and looked down to the floor. Both Iiayikohnian soldiers were sprawled out on the ground, both met with a sudden end neither had deserved.

“No, this can’t be,” Ayanna knelt down at Rian and Catrena’s bodies. “I told him that I trusted him. How… how could I be foolish?”

“Don’t blame yourself, major,” Wihll said. Ayanna stood up and turned around, pointing her gun at him. “Is that any way to greet your fellow soldier?”

“How can you remain so calm?” Ayanna asked. “To think you can just kill them in cold blood and just casually come back… How could you!?”

Wihll smiled, then started to laugh. “I do not know how you still stand before me,” he said. “I told those two to kill you once you got to the second floor. It should have been easy.”

“Are you with the True Thekohnians, after all?”

“It seems you still doubt the reality,” Wihll said. “Then again, you, who lacks the true Thekohnian blood, would never understand our goal.”

“Your goal?” Ayanna asked. “Your goal is based in blood!”

“Continue to doubt,” Wihll replied. “I have no time to debate someone as inferior as you.”

Ayanna pulled the trigger of her gun, the bullet hitting Wihll in the shoulder. Wihll screamed as he grabbed onto his shoulder. She took aim again, but Wihll started to laugh.

“Do you honestly believe you can win?” Wihll asked.

“I am not afraid to kill you where you stand!”

Wihll scoffed. “And you’re the one calling me a murderer,” he said. “I guess it’s okay when you’re a devoted believer in the prime minister. Too bad you’re already late.”

“What?”

“Did you really think that I was going to lead you to some groundbreaking clue?” Wihll asked. “Some major you are! Pathetic! While you were here believing you were some righteous hero fighting for ‘justice,’ Alan Berry is at his office meeting his end!”

Wihll cackled as Ayanna felt her hands shake. “Why would you do this?”

“‘Why’ indeed,” he said. “I could go on about my motivation and tell you all about my master plan like an egomaniac, but I’ve got places to be.”

Wihll pulled a pistol out from his pocket and aimed it at Ayanna.

“Now, Ayanna Ansa, I will bury you!”

Before Wihll could get his shot off, Law reached from behind and grabbed his arm, raising hit up as the gun fired its bullet into the ceiling. Wihll shrugged off Law, flinging him into the wall as Law took a stand.

“Do you have some sort of death wish!?” Wihll asked. “Very well, I am glad to kill you too!”

“You’re going to have to try a lot harder than that!” Law exclaimed. He reached for Wihll’s gun and disarmed him. “I’ve yet to meet someone that could even defeat me!”

“Hmph, looks like I’m cornered,” Wihll said. “No matter. I’ve already won this round, even if you do kill me.”

“The prime minister,” Ayanna muttered.

“You might still be able to save him,” Wihll replied. “After all, he used to be such a capable fighter back in his day! I’m sure the old coot’s buying himself some time before you get there.”

“You… I… I won’t let you get away with this!” Ayanna said.

Wihll looked to a nearby window. “How noble,” he said. “Unfortunately, I already have! Just look down to your comrades if you don’t believe it!”

“If you think you’re getting out of here, then you’ve got another thing coming, my friend,” Law said. “I heard your conversation, and I can’t just let you out of my grasp.”

“Someone like you stopping me?” Wihll asked. “Too bad, because that’s not going to happen!”

Wihll shoved Law out of the way and dove out of the window. Ayanna could do nothing but watch as Wihll got away. She was focused on her next objective: saving the prime minister. She headed out of the building as Law watched her go. Then, he looked over down the other hallway, as Mina was standing by the corner.

“You can come out now,” Law said. Mina regrouped with him as he brushed back his hair with his hand. “If this is too scary for you, I can take you to your place.”

“Wh-what makes you think I’m scared?”

“Nothing,” Law replied. “Although your lack of experience is showing.”

“I could have taken his gun from him too!” Mina said. “Even if he is a big scary man that he is!”

“Well, he is quite scary,” Law said. “I consider it luck that he managed to get away, because if it were a fair fight I’d have beaten him.”

“I would love to see that,” she said.

“Let’s go,” he said. “If what Wihll said is true, then we have to go to the prime minister’s office!”

“So you don’t think that I’m slowing you down, then?”

“You’ve managed to keep up with me,” Law said. “I guess I have that effect on women, so that should be no surprise.”

“Where is the prime minister’s office?”

“Don’t tell me you’ve never been, have you?” Law asked. Mina shook her head. “Fine, then follow me. If it weren’t such an important deal, this would be our second date!”

Law left the building with Mina following after him. Despite Law’s insistence, Mina had made sure to remind him that there was not even a first date. Regardless, Law kept moving on his way to the prime minister’s office.

 

[2740 AD; prime minister’s office – Deca District]

 

Alan looked out the window, taking in the view of the city. He was finished for the day and was looking forward to heading home. The night was not a lonely one, however, as the door opened behind him.

“Yes, who is it?” Alan asked. With a turn of his head, he could see the man standing at the door. “You… How did you get in here?”

“That you shouldn’t be worried about,” the man replied, “Not when you’ll be dead!”

The man proceeded to point a pistol at Alan, who did not flinch.

“Before you pull the trigger, I have one question,” Alan said. “Who was it that sent you?”

“Why should I answer that?”

“If you’re going to shoot me dead, then the least I could know is who brought upon this hit,” Alan replied.
“Fine,” the man said. “He probably took care of them anyway… It should be safe.”

“Get on with it.”

“What’s it to you? You’ll be dead either way.”

“Maybe,” Alan said.

“Then maybe I should just kill you now!”

It did not take long for Alan to reach into his pocket. He produced a small smoke bomb and threw it to the floor. A thick cloud of gray smoke filled the room as the man opened fire at the cloud. The glass shattered as the man advanced towards the desk, but Alan was ready as he threw an uppercut at the man’s face.

“You! What the hell!?”

In that instant, Alan appeared behind the man and reached for his arms. The man was restrained in the grasp as his weapon dropped to the floor, as Alan proved to be stronger than his would-be assassin had assumed.

“Maybe your superior didn’t tell you this,” Alan said, “But I used to be one of the best fighters.”

“Let me go!”

“After what you tried to pull?” Alan asked. “Not a chance! Now tell me… Who is it that you are working for?”

“W-wihll!”

“That was not that difficult, was it?”

“Kill… kill me!”

“Are you taking me for a fool?” Alan asked. “Only a coward would choose death, and I have no intention of letting you get away with your crime!”

His grasp started to loosen as the man thrusted his elbow into Alan’s abdomen. It took only a second for Alan to drop to his knees as the man picked up his pistol. Alan looked up and met with the barrel of the gun pointing right between his eyes.

“For an old man, you are tough,” the man said. “Too bad you won’t get to see the high praise I’m going to tell Wihll!”

A single gunshot rang through the air. It took some time for the ringing to stop, but it was done. Alan opened his eyes to see the man lying on the floor before him. Behind him, Ayanna had just arrived with her gun, ready to shoot.

“Major Ansa,” he said.

“Are you okay, sir?”

“It’s nothing that I can’t walk off,” Alan replied. He coughed as he attempted to stand, which led Ayanna to help him up. “Thank you.”

“It’s my job,” she said. “Now, about him…”

“I will have him placed under arrest,” he said. “We’ll question him about everything.”

“Good,” Ayanna said. “There is something else I need to tell you.”

She informed Alan about Victor Wihll’s involvement with the True Thekohnians, as well as the crimes he had committed earlier.

“It seems that I was thoughtless,” Alan said.

“What will you do?”

“We can’t just do nothing,” Alan replied, “However, they’d want to see us act irrationally.”

“If I had arrived a second too late…”

“Ansa, don’t get hung up on that,” he said. “I am still alive, after all. That’s a big blow to whatever they had planned.”

“You’re right,” she said. “I will have to do my part to make sure that there are no True Thekohnians within our ranks.”

“Very well,” Alan said.

“So this is where it all went down, huh?” Law asked.

Ayanna turned to see Law and Mina enter. “How did you get in?”

“The guard was on break,” Mina replied. She then had a look at the man that was unconscious on the floor. “Oh my god… he’s not dead… is he?”

“No,” Ayanna replied. “Prime minister, sir, let’s get all this cleared up and then I can start questioning this man.”

 

After the police came and apprehended the wounded man, Ayanna and Alan met with Law and Mina down in the Questioning Chambers. Mina took time to admire the statues of past prime ministers and generals, while Law admired Ayanna.

“Mr. Power, I would like to start this questioning,” Ayanna said, “So can you please stop it with the winking?”

“Hey, I know the deal,” Law replied, “I’m just trying to ease the tension in this room.”

“I ask that you take this seriously,” Ayanna said.

“What about the girl?” Alan asked. “I know I’ve seen her before.”

“Me?” Mina asked. “I’m every villain’s worst nightmare! Mighty Mina, at your service!”

Alan placed his hand upon his face, trying not to laugh. “It was when I went out for lunch with the general the other day,” he said. “A booming voice resonated throughout the Giga District as we both caught glimpse of this girl beating up a couple of hooligans.”

Mina blushed as she let out a meek chuckle. “I didn’t know that the prime minister was watching,” she said. “I feel so honored…”

“I remember it so vividly because I believe the general said to me ‘let’s go,’ and so we did,” Alan said. “Ansa, I believe that we can let her go.”

“I’m inclined to agree,” Ayanna said.

“You don’t want to hear more from me?” Mina asked.

“No,” Ayanna replied.

“Okay, so I guess I’ll see you later,” Mina said to Law.

“OK,” Law said. “See ya.”

After Mina had left, Law was still being held in questioning. Alan stepped out of the room at this time, which left Ayanna to deal with Law.

“So, should I start or should you start?” Law asked.

“Please, Mr. Power, be serious,” Ayanna replied. “I’m going to ask you a series of questions about your movements in the Deci District tonight.”

“Let me save you a couple of those, then,” Law said. “I had a hot date with that marvelous wonder from before. You should have seen her technique!”

“I’m not even going to ask what that means,” Ayanna said. “Tell me what you know about the True Thekohnians.”

“That’s not a question.”

“Are you… Do you have any bloody idea who you’re talking with?”

“I used to be in the military,” Law said. “Obviously not this country, but it’s all the same.”

“Then you could at least cooperate,” she said. “What do you know about the True Thekohnians?”

“That is a question,” Law said, “A question that I can indeed answer. It all started three years ago, when I was a soldier in the Ameci army…”

“I would rather you get to what you know.”

“Ah, I guess I don’t have time to tell you a long story,” Law said. “A shame since many ladies have swooned once they’ve heard the whole thing.”

“You’re testing my patience,” Ayanna said. “I would recommend to you that you don’t push me further.”

“Then let me get serious,” Law replied. “You can sigh to yourself all you want, but I do know of another lady. A most intriguing woman, I may add.”

“Just get on with it.”

“She had beautiful red hair, I’ll add,” Law continued. “Not as beautiful as your lovely brown hair, of course.”

“Red hair?” Ayanna asked.

“Hey, red, brown, blonde… I don’t care.”

“What is this woman’s name?”

“Are you jealous?” Law asked. “Seems like you have a bit of a change in heart. I guess it doesn’t matter, but the name of that lovely lass is Silvia.”

“So she’s still alive,” Ayanna said.

“Yes, although it’s a shame,” Law replied. “I have to give it to her, that Silvia, because she played me well. Her and her friends. Only after our first date did I learn the truth.”

“The truth?”

“You’ll get nowhere by repeating me,” he said. “Silvia and the rest of the True Thekohnians will be long gone if you do.”

“I was afraid of that,” Ayanna said. “Silvia… Just what has she gotten herself into?”

 

To be continued…

 

Previous | Next Part

