Chapter 6 – Part 3

[2740 AD; Prime Minister’s Office – Deca District]

 

Ayanna Ansa entered the office of the prime minister of Iiayikohn, well aware of why she was called in. She had requested the audience of Alan Berry the day before, something no one had done with him before. That was why it surprised her that he did manage to set up time with her. She took a seat in front of the desk, waiting for the prime minister to arrive.

“Ah, Ayanna, I’ve been expecting you,” Alan said. He took a seat, but not before lifting up his cape into the air so it could drape over the back of the chair. “The note you wrote me stood out quite well, but then again, I should expect that from someone who became major at only a year ago at 23.”

“Thank you, Prime Minister,” Ayanna said. “I was hoping to have this conversation for quite a while.”

“I understand,” he said.

“Let me begin by saying that I don’t have evidence to prove this,” she said, “Regardless, there are those within this building that are working with the True Thekohnians.”

“So I’ve heard,” Alan said. “You are aware that these claims carry a vast weight to them?”

“I know,” she replied. “It’s just that with them, it is a personal matter for me.”

“Do not get the wrong idea, Major Ansa,” Alan said, “I am all too familiar with betrayal. That said, the fact that you admit there is no evidence to what you claim is unfortunate.”

“Prime Minister, I…”

“I cannot advise you to go about on an infiltration mission,” he said. “I cannot personally do that.”

“I get it,” she said.

“Do not let this discourage you,” he said. “Just remember the evidence for the next time. That is all I ask.”

“Okay.”

Ayanna got up and left Alan’s office. It was unfortunate, like he said, but she could not let it go without a fight. It was something that Ayanna had to do. After all, that was why she joined the Iiayikohnian military, being the first in her family to do so.

“I know you’re upset, Major, but perhaps you can use this as a learning experience?”

Ayanna turned to see the grinning blond man next to her. “Lieutenant Victor Wihll,” she said. “Did you not have other business that you were attending to?”

“It’s a shame,” he said. “I admire the dedication you have for your work, but to see you hung up on your suspicions truly makes me laugh.”

“Excuse me?”

“Believe me, you are well accomplished,” Wihll replied, “However, I feel as if you’re going about these True Thekohnians the wrong way.”

“And how would you handle it?” Ayanna asked.

“There are quite a few sympathizers of the TT, I’m afraid,” Wihll said. “I would be on guard if I were in your boots.”

“You really don’t have to do that, lieutenant,” she said.

“Oh, I’m not in doubt of your ability to defend yourself, Major!” Wihll replied. “Just saying: this is an organization that has been in existence for over twenty years. I’ve heard many a tale about those losing loved ones to them. The thought really makes the blood boil, doesn’t it?”

“You don’t appear to be angry,” Ayanna said.

“Oh my, oh me!” Wihll exclaimed, throwing up his hands. “How accusatory! Next you’ll say that I am a True Thekohnian.”

“Please do not put words into my mouth.”

Wihll scoffed. “I did no such thing.”

“You still haven’t answered my question,” she said.

“Have I not?” Wihll asked. “There’s no real way to deal with such a dangerous group. Believe you me, Major, the stakes are always high with the True Thekohnians.”

“I assume it’s personal, then?”

“You tell me.”

“It’s a friend of mine,” she replied. “That is all I will say.”

“A friend, is it?” Wihll wondered. “Yes, a dirty trick befitting of any terrorist. Taking those close to you… Unforgivable!”

“You understand, then,” Ayanna said. “I cannot choose to give up; that’s not the Ansa way.”

“If you are this dedicated, then I will help you,” Wihll said.

“Not a moment ago, you laughed at my predicament,” Ayanna said. “What is the reason for this change of heart, lieutenant?”

“Let’s just say that I enjoy helping,” he replied. “Even someone like myself can lend a hand to those who need it.”

“Truly you are something else,” she said. “Very well, I suppose I can use your help. Walk with me.”

 

[2740 AD; Rezar – Rask Locksmith]

 

The bell on the door jingled as Law walked in. This had to be the place, he thought. He was lucky enough to get in on time, five minutes before closing for the night. The old man behind the counter saw Law and waved at him.

“Hello there!”

“Yo,” Law replied. “Is Mina here?”

“Oh, are you interested in her?” The old man looked to the back. “Mina’s in the storeroom right now.”

“I’m just an acquaintance,” Law replied. “But I am interested in knowing her.”

“Of course, of course,” the old man said. “I’m Drake, by the way. Drake Rask.”

“Glad to meet you,” Law said. “Law Power. You’re the uncle, right?”

“That’s right,” Drake replied. “Mina’s been working for me a while now. Quite enthusiastic, I’d say.”

“Sounds about right,” Law said. “So she’s a locksmith too?”

“Well, she likes keys,” Drake said. “Mina seems to be more interested in throwing down, though. Always looking to pick a fight, that girl.”

“Sounds dangerous.”

“Oh, she’s capable of handling herself,” he said. “That I don’t worry about.”

“Then what is it?” Law asked.

“Well, it’s… Actually, I think that’s a bit too personal,” Drake said. “You don’t have to worry. You’re just here to see her, right?”

“Yeah, that’s what I’m here for,” Law replied.

“You’re not going to do anything funny to her, are you?” Drake asked. “She’d put you flat on your face if you do.”

“Luckily for you and her, I’m a guy you can trust,” Law said.

“Oh, you’re the guy from before!” Mina said, entering the room. “Uncle Drake, you should have seen it! This was the guy I told you about!”

“The guy you said you ‘put into a suplex,’ Mina?” Drake asked.

“Aw, come on, you had to be there!” Mina replied. “You are a good fighter, though. You said you’re a soldier, right?”

“Used to be,” Law said.

“Hold up, Law,” Drake said, “You were a soldier? Which branch?”

“I’m not from here,” Law replied. “I’m Ameci. I got out of the army a while ago. It’s a long story.”

“An Ameci, huh?” Mina asked. “Now that’s interesting!”

Law’s face lit up. “Yes, perhaps I could tell you more,” he said. “Hope you don’t mind, Mr. Rask.”

“Go on ahead,” Drake said. “Just make sure you come to work on time tomorrow, Mina.”

Mina laughed, then stopped. “Okay, uncle Drake,” she said. “Don’t worry, I’ve got my eye on this guy!”

“Well, bye,” Law said. He left the shop with Mina right behind him. Drake closed his eyes and sighed.

“I can’t just tell her the truth, can I?” Drake asked as he shook his head.

 

To be continued…

 

Previous | Next Part

