Chapter 6 – Part 2

[2740 AD; Rezar, Iiayikohn – coffee shop inside the shopping district]

 

He waltzed into the coffee shop, the bell ringing as he looked for the woman he made a promise to. With a quick scan of the floor, he spotted the redhead sitting at one of the tables. It was almost destiny. At least that was what he thought when he called her over to the coffee shop.

“Oh hey, Law!”

“Hey there,” Lawrence “Law” Power said. “Silvia, right?”

“That’s right,” she replied.

Law took the seat opposite of her as he flicked back his long hair. “Glad to see my memory’s still top notch,” he said. “Good looks can only take a man so far, you know?”

Silvia laughed. “It’s nice to have you here,” she said. “You’ve been really helpful the past week.”

“Guess that’s my cue,” Law said, “You’re welcome. I always like to help those who want it, especially gals like you.”

“You’re too kind.”

“No, please, I’m only doing what any good man would do,” he said. The bell rang again as a couple of men in black clothing entered, passing Law and Silvia by. Law started to recline in his chair as he yawned.

“Do you need some coffee?” Silvia asked.

“I’m good,” Law replied. He took out a small mirror from the pocket of his bomber jacket and looked into it, admiring his looks. “You know, I didn’t expect things would be heating up so soon.”

“What do you mean?”

“Oh, nothing,” he replied, putting the mirror away. “Anyway, you were going to tell me something the last time we met, were you not?”

“I can’t recall,” she said.

“If I manage to guess it correctly, will you give me a prize?” Law asked. “I know one thing you can give me.”

“Law, it might be too early for that,” Silvia said as she blushed. “I mean, it’s been only a week…”

Law chuckled. “Give me a little more credit than that,” he said. “I’m more than just a pretty face, Silvia! You know exactly what I’m talking about.”

“I… Law, please,” she said.

“The first day I laid eyes on you, I knew you were someone special,” Law said. “Why else would you bring a couple of your friends over to meet me?”

Silvia sat there, her eyes wide as Law picked up the fork sitting on the table. He eyed the sharp, pointed prongs at the end as the sunlight gleamed off of them.

“I know it looks unusual, but a little creativity can make even a fork like this a good weapon!”

Law turned around and threw the fork in the direction of the man behind him. It lodged itself into the back of his neck, the man screaming as he stood up. An immediate palm greeted his head as Law smashed his face into the table, knocking him out. The other man made a break for the exit, but Law was not about to let him go. He picked up a glass mug and pitched it, connected with the back of the man’s head. The other man fell to the floor, with Law standing over him.

“Too bad,” he said. “If you guys ever come to, you’ll be one step behind as usual.”

Law looked around. He knew that it would happen, but he had to catch up with Silvia before it was too late. Dashing out of the coffee shop, Law caught her running through the bustling town square. He smirked as he followed after her, but soon found himself face to face with three more of her “friends” in an alleyway.

“I guess this means I’m popular,” he said. “You guys wouldn’t happen to have seen a red haired woman passing by, would you?”

“The only red we’ve seen is the blood that’s going to spill from your head,” the supposed leader of the three said. He took out a revolver, as did the other two men.

“You guys know how to make this fight fair, don’t you?” Law asked. “Sadly for you, this was never going to be a fair fight.”

Law charged at the men, throwing them off their guards as he disarmed one of them and put him into a choke hold. He held the gun in his hand and pointed it at the other two. “I’d give up if I were you,” Law said. “Now, tell me where she went. You ‘True Thekohnians’ can at least tell me that.”

“Like hell we will!” The man to Law’s right aimed his gun, only to have Law to shoot it out of his hand.

“I’m sorry,” Law said, “But that was the wrong answer. Tell me again; otherwise, I’ll do more than just that fancy gun trick.”

“You-you… Who are you?” The man in Law’s hold asked him.

“Me?” Law asked. “You shouldn’t worry about me, my friend, because I think you worry about yourself first!”

Law released the man from his hold and shoved him into the wall. The other two men then decided to run after seeing how formidable Law really was. For Law, though, he was not about to call it a day as he chased after them. Once he was out of the alley, he did not find either of the two men nor could he find Silvia.

“Seems that I keep getting distracted,” Law said. He took a look into his mirror once more. “At least my record is still perfect.”

“Not so fast!”

Law sought out the source of that lovely voice. He focused his eyes on a woman with short black hair who was close to his height. She got into what appeared to be a fighting stance, her fists clenched.

“That’s an interesting way to introduce yourself,” Law said. “Of course, I can’t just meet a pretty girl without asking her name. So how about yourself?”

“My name is your worst nightmare,” she replied. “When I am finished with you, you will weep whenever you hear the name Themina!”

“Thay-meena?” Law asked.

“Do you not speak Theias? Then know the very name of the warrior who will defeat you: Mighty Mina!”

“May I ask why?” Law wondered. “I certainly would remember someone like yourself.”

“Don’t try and flatter me with your words, villain!” Mina said. “You and your like have terrorized the streets of Rezar for the last time! I am the hero to all of Thekohn!”

Law tried his best not to laugh, looking down at the ground and closing his eyes. “Consider me impressed,” he said. “Very well, show me what you’ve got.”
Mina advanced with haste towards Law and grabbed him into a headlock. He could feel her grip lock onto him as he was lifted off of the ground. With her free hand, Mina grabbed Law at his hip and bent backwards as she tried to subdue him. Law, though, prepared by setting his feet in order to land upright. As she dropped to the ground, Law towered over Mina.

“Ow! What the heck did you do?” Mina asked, rubbing her head. “I know that wasn’t supposed to happen!”

“I don’t know what they teach people over here,” Law said, “But that was not at all a very practical move!”

Mina jumped to her feet and threw a punch at Law. Before he got hit in the face, Law caught the punch. It was amazing, he thought, that he was able to stop her from hitting him. She knew how to throw a punch, that much Law could ascertain.

“I have to admit: you are quite strong,” Law said. “Can we stop this now? I think I get the idea.”

“Are you giving up?” Mina asked. “I… A real villain doesn’t just give up!”

“I don’t know what tales you’ve been told, but real life isn’t just a battle of heroes and villains,” Law said. “I do think you’re pretty strong, though.”

“Oh, um, thanks,” Mina said. She smiled as she tried to find the right words. “You really mean that?”

“I fought many people during my time as a soldier,” Law said, “None of them hold a candle to you. Who did you train under?”

“Train?” Mina asked. “I just started doing it. Fighting, I mean.”

Law laughed. “Seriously, strength like that has to come from somewhere,” he said. “It’s not like there’s a supernatural force out there giving you this; it’s got to come from somewhere!”

“Can’t say that I follow you,” Mina replied. “All I know is since I was a little girl, I was sparring with guys twice my size! Er, by that they were taller than me! They’d all tell you about it!”

“That’s certainly good to know,” Law said. “Surely fighting isn’t the only thing you’re good at? Maybe we can discuss over a drink?”

“Oh, well, thing is is that I’m actually supposed to be at work,” Mina said. “My uncle’s a locksmith, and this was supposed to be my lunch break. I just saw you fighting those guys and thought you were someone else… Haha…”

“Then how about I wait for you to get off of work?” Law asked. “I can’t imagine a lovely lady like you not spending time with a great guy like myself.”

Mina placed her hand over her mouth, trying not to laugh. “Perhaps if you defeat me, I’ll think about it,” she replied. “Until then, I guess this is… goodbye?”

Mina ran off as Law observed her form. Her dash down the sidewalk captivated him, something he could not take his eyes off of. Of course, for Law, he knew that he did not want to focus on just her. There was also the matter of Silvia, or rather, Silvia’s involvement with the True Thekohnians.

“Silvia, oh Silvia, you turned out to be quite the tricky one,” Law said. He clutched his hand; the pain was still there. “And that Mina! She is cute, but I’d best not get on her bad side.”

Law turned his focus back over to Silvia. He had a feeling she was involved with the True Thekohnians, a group that he was all too familiar with. His first encounter with them was when he was still in the Ameci army: he was serving alongside his elder brother Gavin. It was an espionage mission, Law’s speciality, when he came across the group. Today, though, his mission did not go as well as it did back then. It would have to come at another time, at least.

“I really need to regroup,” Law said. “Which locksmith did Mina say she worked at? Perhaps I should pay that uncle of hers a visit.”

 

To be continued…

 

Previous | Next Part

