Chapter 6 – Part 1

[2740 AD; Admorse Shipyard – On the deck of the Ameci Atlas]

 

“Well, Sorin, I bet you’ve never been on a ship like this, have you?”

Kirk looked at Sorin, who was overlooking the entire deck of the ship. The group of four had just boarded, with Gale heading down to the passenger’s quarters. Eva took a look over the railings, seeing a long drop to the water below. They were ready to set off, as was the ship as the horn blared throughout the shipyard. It sounded once more as the ship began to move.

“And that means we’re off!” Kirk said. “No regrets, right?”

“I guess not,” Sorin replied.

“That’s what I like to hear,” Kirk said. “Now go see what Eva’s up to. I assume that she wants to get started as soon as possible.”

“Got it,” Sorin said. He walked over to Eva, who was still looking over the railing. “I was told that you wanted to see me.”

“You don’t sound very ready to me,” she said. “Where is your sword?”

“I don’t have it?” Sorin asked. He checked his person, but to no avail. “I guess Gale must have taken it.”

Eva sighed. “Get it from her, then.”

Sorin headed over to the passenger quarters, which was downstairs inside the depths of the ship. He checked down the entire hallway until he found Gale, who was just opening the door to the room that they were going to be staying in.

“Gale, wait!”

“Oh, Sorin,” Gale said. “What is it?”

“Did you happen to see a sword?” Sorin asked.

“Probably,” she replied. “You can go check. It’d have to be in one of the bags, I would guess.”

Sorin went into the room, spying the three bags that were sitting there in the middle. “Well, I guess I’ll have to find out,” he said.

 

Elsewhere on the ship, Henry strolled through the dining hall. He was the only one in the hall, save for a couple of the crew hanging out. It was going to take a few days until they reached Iiayikohn and Henry was not sure how he was going to go about navigating the country. Of course he was familiar with the area, but it had been ten years since he had last been in Iiayikohn. Still, Henry’s goal was clear at this point: make it across the ocean.

“If I can get there, at least,” Henry said. “That’s it! Alan would know what to do!”

“There you are!”

Henry turned and spotted Tori, who was standing by him. “Tori! What are you doing here?”

“I didn’t want you to be alone on this trip,” she replied.

“But… the kids…” Henry said. “This is dangerous!”

“I told them everything,” Tori said, “About us, about what I was going to do. It was difficult for all of us, your mother included.”

“You have no idea where I’m going! Hell, I don’t even know what I’m going to do once I get to Iiayikohn!”

“You’re going to see Alan,” she said. “Listen, Henry, I know that you are doubting yourself right now. That you might be filled with despair over the accusations…”

“Tori, please.”

“No! I refuse to believe you’ve given up!” Tori protested. “Do you remember what you said to me the day we met? To keep moving?”

Henry placed his hands on Tori’s. “Yes, I do,” he said. “Keep moving, no matter what the cost.”

“Henry, I still believe in you,” she said, “I think Rohan does as well.”

“If only it would be that easy.”

“At least you can try?”

Henry shook his head. “We can try,” he said. “It won’t be easy, but I do feel better now that you’re here.”

“Thank you,” Tori said as she reached up to embrace Henry.

 

It was an unsuccessful endeavor for Gavin in trying to find Henry on the ship. He looked around everywhere he could, but the result was the same as he was still a step behind the man he was trying to catch. Gavin resigned himself to the deck as he thought out his next plan when he ended up bumping into Kirk and Eva.

“Excuse me,” Gavin said. “Hold on…”

“Yes, what is it?” Kirk asked.

“You look familiar,” Gavin replied. “Have I not seen you before?”

“It might just be you,” he replied.

“It probably is,” Eva said.

“Hmph, perhaps I’ve gone mad?” Gavin asked aloud.

“That could be a possibility,” Kirk said.

“I was thinking out loud,” Gavin said, “A.K.A. none of your business!”

“Ah, of course,” Kirk said, “I’ve heard many going mad due to the sea. That might just be what you’re going through.”

“I told you it was none of your business!”

“I’m just making conversation,” Kirk said as he turned to Eva. “Isn’t that right?”

“Maybe he’s having a bad day,” she suggested.

“Then we can carry on,” Kirk said.

“Hey! Wait!” Gavin said.

“What now?” Eva asked.

“Now that I’m thinking about it, I am reminded of something,” Gavin said. “Does the name Henry Randolph sound familiar to you?”

Kirk raised his eyebrow. “Henry Randolph,” he said, “It does sound familiar to me, actually.”

“Finally, a lead!” Gavin exclaimed. “I mean, that’s good. Do you know anything about him?”

“Not personally, no,” Kirk replied. “I’m sorry, I guess that wasn’t a very good answer, was it?”

Gavin grumbled. “Do you even know who I’m talking about!?”

“I’ve met many a stranger in my life, sir,” Kirk said. “I’m sure I’ve met a man like that before. It just gets confusing after a while. Old age, you know?”

“You don’t look that old to me,” Gavin said. “What about you, miss?”

“I’ve only the one eye here,” Eva replied. “That’s to make sure he doesn’t run off doing whatever the hell he does.”

“Hey, I have to thank you for the compliment, though,” Kirk said. “Especially coming from someone in the military.”

“It’s… nothing,” Gavin said. “Please, go on. Forget that I even talked to you.”

“If you insist,” Kirk said. “Let’s go, Eva.”

They walked away from Gavin, who was left by himself to ponder about what just happened. He had the feeling those two looked familiar, but he just could not remember why. That was when it hit him.

“The swords!” Gavin said. “They had swords on them! How could I not see it?”

He had a lead now towards Henry Randolph. Gavin was not sure how this would help, but knowing that a couple of members of the defunct Swords of Eight were on board might help him. It was then that he realized that Kirk and Eva were nowhere to be found atop the deck of the ship.

“Damn it, I should really be on top of these things,” he said. “No matter! I know what I must do now!”

He laughed as he began to deduce where those two went. The most likely place, he felt, would be in the passenger’s quarters. Thus, Gavin went down into the ship to follow after the two.

 

To be continued…

 

Previous | Next Part

