Prologue 1

[2730 AD; Ameci Embassy in Iiayi – 10 years ago]

“This is unheard of, Randolph.”

The two men met at the edge of the city, where the rain continued to fall. Henry Randolph clenching his fists, unsure of what was going to happen next.

“I don’t know what you’re talking about, Fercewend,” Henry said.

“You are aware of the rumors, are you not?” Rohan Fercewend asked. “Such an action committed by someone in the Ameci military…”

“Treason,” Henry said. “That’s what you’re trying to tell me, right?”

“It’s not as easy as you think,” Fercewend said. “I’ve argued with the general and the president, but they’re looking to make an example of you.”

Henry’s eyes widened. “There’s no evidence of any wrongdoing! Do I at least get to state my case?”

“If it were up to me, Randolph, I’d be at your defense,” Fercewend replied. He turned towards the window and looked outside. “They don’t take treason lightly, even if it’s just an accusation.”

“Do you have any idea why they’re accusing me?” Henry asked.

“To put it in simple terms: no,” Fercewend said.

Henry looked down at the floor, his eyes trailing the tiles. “What should I do?”

“The trial is tomorrow,” Fercewend told him. “If I were in your position, I would get some rest and prepare.”

“Okay,” Henry said. “I’ll take your advice to heart.”

“I am glad to hear that,” Fercewend said. He turned to leave the embassy. “Oh, and Randolph?”

“Yes?”

“When this is all over, perhaps we can take some time sparring in the ring?” Fercewend asked. “I’ve heard much about your abilities; it would be a shame if you and I never had the chance to match up.”

Henry laughed. “To be challenged to a fight by the decidedly ‘strongest man in the world’ is an honor,” he replied. “How could I say no?”

“Then I will see you in the ring,” Fercewend said. He left the embassy, pulling out an umbrella as he walked into the darkness and rain. Henry sighed to himself and sat down. He pulled out a picture from his pockets, one of his girlfriend Tori, and looked up at the ceiling.

“I’m so sorry, my love,” Henry said. “What I’m about to do… I hope you have it in your heart to forgive me one day.”

 

Next Chapter

One thought on “Prologue 1

  1. Pingback: Chapter 1 – Part 1 | Brave Fighting Sun

Leave a Reply

